Your Elected Officials

It’s important to understand how your government works, and for that government to be transparent with and accessible to you. You can learn more about how Kentucky’s state government works by clicking here, and you can learn more about the subject, in general, by exploring some of the links on our digital resources page.

Below, your Rowan County Public Library provides a list of elected officials at the local, state, and Federal levels who directly affect you and whom you can contact about their policies. We try to keep this list as up-to-date as possible, but remember that you can always visit to find the most current information, too.

Rowan County

County Administration

Judge/Executive Harry Clark
Executive Operations Manager Jason Slone
Treasurer Michele Jessee
Finance Officer Doris Kidd
Payroll Officer Becky Kissick

County Officials

Attorney Cecil Watkins
Clerk Elwood Caudill, Jr.
Sheriff Matt Clark
Jailer Wes Coldiron
Property Valuation Administrator Carmen Eldridge Swim
Coroner John Northcutt

County Fiscal Court

Magistrate (District 1) Ray White
Magistrate (District 2) Darrell Glover
Magistrate (District 3) Charlie Winkleman
Magistrate (District 4) Rob Hamm

 Other County Officials

Animal Control Officer Nick Brown
Ambulance Service Director Danny Blevins
Road Department Foreman Steve Kelsey

City of Morehead

Mayor Laura White-Brown
City Council Tim Carew
Mike Cash
Melissa Patrick
David Perkins
Beth Ousley
Glen Teager

State of Kentucky

Governor Andy Beshear
Lieutenant Governor Jenean Hampton
Attorney General Andy Beshear
Secretary of State Alison Grimes
Auditor of Public Accounts Mike Harmon
Budget Director John Chilton
Commissioner of Education Wayne Lewis, Jr.
Commissioner of Revenue Daniel Bork
Controller Ed Ross
Secretary of Administration and Finance William Landrum III
Treasurer Allison Ball
Board of Education Ben Cundiff
Gary Houchens
Alesa Johnson
Hal Heiner
Kathy Gornik
Tracey Cusick
Laura Timberlake
Richard Gimmel
Amanda Stamper
Milton Seymore
Joe Papalia
Aaron Thompson
House of Representatives
(District 99)
Rocky Adkins
(District 27)
Stephen West
Supreme Court
(District 7)
Samuel Wright III

United States Federal Government

U.S. Representative Harold Rogers
U.S. Senator
Mitch McConnell
U.S. Senator
Rand Paul